A Sort Of Homecoming


A Sort Of Homecoming

DTIFC 009 – 2004


Dream Theater

  • Mike Portnoy – Drums
  • John Petrucci – Guitar
  • John Myung – Bass
  • Jordan Rudess – Keyboards
  • James LaBrie – Vocals


  • Eugene Friesen – Cello (on track 10 to 12)


  • Mike Portnoy – Compiled and edited
  • Nigel Paul – Live Sound Engineer
  • Raistlin Beardsley & Matt Johnston – Mix and Master
  • Simone Schmidt, Michael Bitter, Steffen Barabasch, Denis Schoen – Layout
  • Alicyn Leigh and Marc Villalonga – Photos


  1. NYC Radio Ad
  2. As I Am
  3. Honor Thy Father
  4. Caught In A Web Pt.1
  5. Mike Portnoy Drum Solo / Duet With Scott Rockenfield
  6. Beyond This Life Improv Jam
  7. The Oakdale Odyssey
  8. The Spirit Of St. Louis
  9. John Petrucci Guitar Spot
  10. Vacant
  11. Stream Of Consciousness
  12. Disappear

Length: 75:47

About the album

For the annual gift of 2004, the choice was made to create an ideal complement to the official release of Live At Budokan. By adding tracks not contained on the that release, this special fan club CD would be a companion to the live album released the same year. To offer a single CD that feature all the songs played during the 2004 tour that didn’t appear on Live At Budokan would be impossible, but this is a good selection of some of the highlights.

Mike Portnoy fully selected the final tracklist for this CD. First and foremost, it contains several live tracks from the first show Dream Theater played at the legendary Madison Square Garden, one of the biggest venues in the home turf of Dream Theater.

There are several improvisational pieces on this CD as well, which were done absolutely as jams on stage without a “safety net”, so to speak. The Oakdale Odyssey was recorded at the Oakdale Theater in Wallingford, USA on March 30th 2004. The Spirit Of St. Lous was recorded at the Pagaent Theater in St. Louis on March 17th of 2004.

In addition, there’s a solo spot with Mike Portnoy taken from Moore Theater in Seattle on March 2nd 2004, where he was joined by Scott Rockenfield (the drummer from Queensrรฟche) on the Siamese Monster. There’s a solo spot with John Petrucci.

For the last three tracks on the CD, Dream Theater brought out a guest player: Eugene Friesen, who played Cello on Train of Thought. He repeats the guest spot live here.

It was also announced to the fan clubs that did would be the last annual gift project Mike Portnoy would be as intensely involved in. Luckily, we would be able to convince him otherwise.

The CD was pressed in Netherlands, with 7500 copies. It is currently out of print. It has never been re-released.