Graspop Festival 2002


Graspop Festival 2002

DTIFC 008 – 2003


Dream Theater

  • Mike Portnoy – Drums
  • John Petrucci – Guitar
  • John Myung – Bass
  • Jordan Rudess – Keyboards
  • James LaBrie – Vocals


  • Dirk Stephan – Mix and Master
  • Steffen Barabasch – CD Production
  • Hรฉrve Pfeiffer – Artwork
  • Iris Hulsegge, Olga Otten, Dirk Van den Auweele – Photos


  1. The Glass Prison (14:26)
  2. The Mirror (06:57)
  3. Lie (06:47)
  4. Peruvian Skies (06:54)
  5. War Inside My Head (02:03)
  6. The Test That Stumped Them All (04:57)
  7. The Great Debate (13:30)
  8. Home (11:11)
  9. Pull Me Under / Master Of Puppets (10:26)

Length: 77:11

About the album

For the annual gift of 2003, instead of going to the vaults, Mike Portnoy chose to make available a soundboard recording of the 2002 Graspop Festival show. On July 6th 2002, Dream Theater shared the stage with Slayer, Machine Head, Bruce Dickinson, Rob Halford and Biohazard on the main stage of the Graspos Festival.

With a very heavy presence of metal acts on the stage, Dream Theater had a tremendous task ahead of them – they had to prove that they were not only a progressive band, but also a metal band, something the audience of the festival might not have been aware of. The set list was (to that point) the most heavy set list Dream Theater had ever had.

The CD represents the entire show. Home and Pull Me Under had shortened, heavier intros, and to please the crowd the band covered portions of Master of Puppets.

The CD is a mix between the soundboard recording from Mike and an audience sourced recording. This is especially noticeable in the beginning of Glass Prison, where Mike’s DAT for some reason was not recording.

The CD was pressed in Netherlands, with 7330 copies. It is currently out of print. It has never been re-released.