Once In A Livetime Outtakes


Once in a Livetime Outtakes

DTIFC 003 – 1998


Dream Theater

  • Mike Portnoy – Drums
  • John Petrucci – Guitar
  • John Myung – Bass
  • Derek Sherinian – Keyboards
  • James LaBrie – Vocals


  • Kevin Shirley – Recording Engineer
  • Steffen Barabasch (The Mirror) – Artwork
  • Ellit/Harris (DTIFC), Simone Fabbri (Italian Dreamers), Amir Djawadi (The Mirror) – Photos


  1. Eve (4;35)
  2. Speak To Me (6:13)
  3. Lifting Shadows Off A Dream (7:11)
  4. Hey You (4:31)ย  (Pink Floyd Cover)
  5. The Silent Man (5:06)
  6. Cover My Eyes (4:33)
  7. Mean Street (1:28) (Van Halen Cover)
  8. Goodbye Yellow Brick Road (3:10) (Elton John Cover)
  9. Anna Lee (6:33)
  10. To Live Forever (7:33)
  11. Thank You’s (3:23)
  12. Bad (6:06) (U2 Cover)

Length: 60:26

About the album

This was the third fan club CD.ย  Mike Portnoy provided the audio recordings, while the fan clubs designed the cover art.

The content of this release was taken from two different concerts – one semi-acoustic concert in Rotterdam June 22nd 1998, and the show in Paris on June 25th 1998. The first show was a fan club only show, exclusively for members of the fan clubs. Parts of this show ended up on the “5 years in a Livetime” video release. The second show was recorded for the “Once In A Livetime” double album release. The Paris show was with 2 sets, with a total of 3 hours and 30 minutes of music, but an hour of that was cut from the CD release. Speak To Me, Hey You, Goodbye Yellow Brick Road and Anna Lee was recorded in Paris.

This was the first time songs like Speak To Me and Cover My Eyes were released officially. Eve had been released before on The Silent Man single.

This CD is notable because it contains several rearrangements of known Dream Theater songs, as well B-sides that aren’t played live very often.

The CD was pressed in France, with 4000 copies. It is currently out of print. It has never been rereleased.