The ATCO Demos


The ATCO Demos



Dream Theater

  • Mike Portnoy – Drums
  • John Petrucci – Guitar
  • John Myung – Bass
  • Kevin Moore – Keyboards
  • James LaBrie – Vocals


  • David Prater – Engineer


  1. Metropolis Part I (9:19)
  2. To Live Forever ’91 (4:34)
  3. Take The Time (8:08)

About the album

This was a special gift to members of the Dream Theater International Fan Club. Selebrating the 10 year anniversary of Images and Words, the band decided to give the fan club members “The ATCO Demos” – the recordings that got them signed to ATCO Records.

Liner Notes:

These three songs were recorded as a demo deal struck with the then Atco Label. The basic tracks were recorded by producer David Prater, in a single session at Beartracks Studios, Suffern, New York, in May 1991. Guitars, Keyboards and overdubs were recorded at Prater’s 16-track basement home studio in New Jersey. The demo’s were then submitted to the label, and on the strength of these three tracks, a recording deal was immediately struck. Here, for the very first time, the original demo is officially re-issued, in 2002, as a strictly limited edition – which is only available through the Dream Theater International Fan Clubs – to celebrate the 10th anniversary of the Images and Words album.