The Making Of Falling Into Infinity


The Making Of Falling Into Infinity

DTIFC 002 – 1997


Dream Theater

  • Mike Portnoy – Drums
  • John Petrucci – Guitar
  • John Myung – Bass
  • Derek Sherinian – Keyboards
  • James LaBrie – Vocals


  • Doug Pinnick  – Vocals on Lines In The Sand


Length: 75:55

About the album

This was the second fan club CD. It was the first that was distributed across multiple regional fan clubs and the international (english speaking) fan club. Mike Portnoy provided the audio recordings, while the fan clubs designed the cover art.

For this fan club, Mike Portnoy wanted to allow fans to take part in the “hallowed grounds” that is the studio, by offering a bunch of clips from the recording sessions of Falling Into Infinity. This is an interesting CD to listen to, as you get a clear understanding of how Dream Theater constructed their album – but it’s not a CD you return to often. If you’re not a musician, the contents of this compilation may seem boring.

The CD was pressed in Holland, with 3400 copies. It is currently out of print, but it was re-released on the Ytsejam Records label.